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Before heading out to snowmobile this season, it’s im-
portant to know that changes to snowmobile trail pass 
requirements, trail pass fees and the period of validity 
for public-use registration and commercial snowmobile 
certificates (as written in 2014 Wisconsin Act 142) are 
now in effect. 

Linda Olver

Snowmobile trail passes, fees, public-use 
registration and commercial certificate 
changes are in effect. 

What to know 
before you go

Public-use registration and commercial 
certificates valid three years 
Snowmobile public use registration cer-
tificates and commercial snowmobile cer-
tificates purchased after April 1, 2015 are 
now valid for three years rather than two 
years. Public use registration and com-
mercial snowmobile certificate fees re-
main the same, $30 and $90, respectively. 

Trail pass required 
Formerly, only a snowmobile registered 
or in the process of being registered in 
another state, province or country was 
required to display a trail pass when op-
erating on a Wisconsin snowmobile trail 
or corridor. Beginning with the 2015-16 
snow season, all snowmobiles operating 
on a Wisconsin snowmobile trail or cor-
ridor must display a valid snowmobile 
trail pass. 

The snowmobile trail pass is: 
• �An annual pass valid until June 30 each 

year 

Wisconsin is the birthplace of 
snowmobiling and continues to 
offer some of the best snowmobiling 
opportunities you are likely to find, 
especially in northern Wisconsin. More 
than 200,000 registered snowmobiles 
hit Wisconsin’s 25,000 miles of 
groomed trails each winter.
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>>> UTV law changes drop  
cargo box requirement           

• �Separate from snowmobile registration 
• �A 3-inch by 3-inch decal required to 

be permanently affixed to the bot-
tom center portion of the snowmobile 
windshield 

• �Not required to operate on private 
property, on a snow route, or on frozen 
water if not on a marked corridor 

Snowmobile trail pass fees 
The trail pass fee is dependent upon 
whether the snowmobile is registered 
in Wisconsin and whether the owner is 
a current member of a snowmobile club 
and the Association of Wisconsin Snow-
mobile Clubs (AWSC). Trail pass sales 
are nonrefundable. 

There are three types of trail passes 
and associated fees: 

The 2015-17 Wisconsin State Budget, 
approved as 2015 Wisconsin Act 55, 
included a law change related to UTVs. 
The change was made to the legal 
specifications (definition) for a UTV. 
It removes the requirement that the 
machine has a cargo box. Some “buggy” 
type of machines may now be legal to 
register as a UTV if they meet ALL other 
legal specifications. Please note that 
many of these machines do not come 
equipped with a tail light and/or brake 
light. If the manufacturer of the machine 
does not offer a tail light/brake light kit, 
the machine is not eligible to apply for 
registration. Lights may not be homemade 
or purchased from an aftermarket 
equipment company.

What can be registered as a Utility Terrain Vehicle (UTV)? 
State laws [§23.33 (1)(ng)] require a vehicle to meet one of two definitions before it can be 
registered as a UTV. A vehicle must meet each and every legal specification in order to be eligible for 
registration with the Department of Natural Resources. 

Definition 2: Other vehicles qualifying as UTVs 

A vehicle must meet all of the following specifications: 

1. Commercially designed and manufactured; 

2. Four or more low pressure or non-pneumatic tires; 

3. Dry weight less than 2,000 pounds; 

4. Steering Wheel; 

5. One or more tail lights; 

6. One or more brake lights; 

7. Two headlights; 

8. Width of 65 inches or less; 

9. Seat belts for every occupant; and 

10. Roll bar or device that protects occupants during a 
rollover. 
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Definition 1: Utility Terrain Vehicle 
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Vehicles that would not qualify as an 
ATV because of their weight can be 
registered as a UTV if they meet all of 
the following specifications: 

1. Commercially designed and 
manufactured; 

2. Three or more low pressure or  
non-pneumatic tires; 

3. Dry weight more than 900 pounds 
but less than 2,000 pounds; 

4. Width of 50 inches or less; and 

5. Equipped with a seat designed to be 
straddled by the operator. 2 
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WHAT CAN BE REGISTERED AS A UTILITY TERRAIN VECHICLE (UTV)?>>>

Nonresident trail pass – for a snow-
mobile registered in another state, prov-
ince or country or in the process of being 
registered in another state, province or 
country - $50 (formerly $35). 

Wisconsin trail pass – for a snowmo-
bile registered in Wisconsin - $30. A Wis-
consin snowmobile registration number 
is required to purchase the Wisconsin 
trail pass. 

Club member trail pass – for a snow-
mobile registered in Wisconsin and that 
is owned by a person who is a member 
of a snowmobile club affiliated with the 
Association of Wisconsin Snowmobile 
Clubs - $10. 

Where can I purchase my trail pass? 
Nonresident trail passes are available 

online and at many authorized sales lo-
cations. Wisconsin trail passes may be 
ordered online or at any DNR license 
sales agent (via ALIS terminals). All trail 
passes will be delivered by U.S. mail. To 
locate an agent near you who sells the 
nonresident or Wisconsin snowmobile 
trail pass, please visit dnr.wi.gov and 
search “Sales Locations.” 

Club member trail passes are avail-
able through AWSC only and can be 
purchased online at awsc.org, by mail, 
phone, or in person at the AWSC office 
in DeForest. All club member trail passes 
will be delivered by U.S. mail. 

Purpose of the new law 
The revenue generated directly benefits 
snowmobiling in Wisconsin. The ad-
ditional revenue will increase the snow-
mobile segregated fund, which is used to 
pay for maintenance and development of 
snowmobile trails. In addition, the new 
law provides incentive for membership 
in local snowmobile clubs, whose mem-
bers provide the majority of the labor and 
equipment used to maintain the snowmo-
bile trails. The new law provides for an 
evaluation of this initiative in four years. 

Antique registration 
Additional changes to law allow resident 
owners of snowmobiles 35 years or older 
to register as antiques. As of press time, 
pending legislation would exempt antique 
snowmobiles from displaying a trail pass. 
Please visit dnr.wi.gov and search key-
words “Snowmobile Trail Pass.”

Linda Olver is an administrative policy advisor in 
DNR’s customer and outreach services program.  

State law [§23.33 (1)(ng)] requires a vehicle to meet one of two definitions before it can be registered as a 

UTV. A vehicle must meet each and every legal specification in order to be eligible for registration with the 

Department of Natural Resources.
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