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Drowning. It is human nature to
think it can't happen to you — but
it can. The majority of people
who drown in boating accidents
know how to swim but become
incapacitated in the water.

* Sometimes they are injured or
unconscious.

¢ Others develop hypothermia or
become exhausted.

* Some are weighed down by
clothing.

It is important to wear a
life jacket at all times while
boating.

* An accident can happen without
warning.

¢ Usually after the accident, life
jackets are not within reach —
they can be in cabinets, trapped
under the boat or floating far
away in the water.

LIFE JACKETS FOR ALL
WATER SPORTS

The common reasons people
give for not wearing a life jacket
are that it is too hot, it will mess
up their tan line or it is simply

not comfortable. Many people
don't realize the variety of new
life jackets (also called personal
flotation devices or PFDs) that are
on the market today — belt packs
and other jackets that are low
profile, lightweight, easy to move
in, and come in many sizes, styles
and shapes for every person and
every sport. Visit the National
Safe Boating Council webpage
to learn more: safeboating
campaign.com/new-jacket-
pages/recreational-
jackets.htm.
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Life jackets come in many
sizes, styles and shapes.

o

—

BOATER EDUCATION IS
MANDATORY IN WISCONSIN

Boating is a major Wisconsin
recreational activity as well as a
significant part of the state's economy
and tourism industry. Wisconsin ranks
fifth in the nation in the number of
registered boats with over 628,000
boats registered. Additionally, about
335,000 non-motorized boats use
Wisconsin waterways each year.

“Safe boating is a critical part of a
pleasant on-the-water experience and
safe boating starts before you launch,”
explains Roy Zellmer, DNR Boating Law
Administrator.

Zellmer asks boaters to start the
season on a safe note and boat smart.

are rented or leased by the certificate
holder and expires at the end of the
calendar year of issuance. The course is
available online and at some boat rental
businesses.

BOATING SAFETY COURSES
Boating safety courses are mostly
offered in March, April, May and
June. Course cost is $10 and includes
instruction in:

€ Boat dlassification, hull designs and

motors.

€ Legal requirements, registration

and equipment requirements.

The DNR offers boating safety courses in € Navigation rules, basic safety

cooperation with schools, private clubs
and organizations. Online boating safety
courses are also available.

The Mandatory Boating Safety
Education Law requires any boat
operator, born on or after Jan. 1, 1989,
and who is 16 years of age or older, to
take and pass a Boating Safety Course
to legally operate a motorboat. Those
who do not have this certification are
prohibited from operating a motorized
boat or personal watercraft in
Wisconsin.

Wisconsin law also requires anyone
who does not already possess this
certification, but who wishes to rent a
boat or personal watercraft, to complete
a condensed boating safety course
and pass an exam in order to be issued
a Temporary Boat Safety Certificate.
This temporary certification only
applies to the operation of boats that

regulations and waterway marking
systems.

o Preparation, loading, boarding,

cruising, docking, anchoring, knots,
trailering, courtesy and maintenance.

e Boat accidents, emergency measures,

aquatic safety, alcohol usage, visual
distress signals, fire on board and
first aid.

For more information or to register
for a boating safety course, visit dnr.
wi.gov/education/outdoorskills/
safetyeducation.html.
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TOP 10 WISCONSIN
BOATING VIOLATIONS
1. Failure to provide an adequate
number of life jackets.
2. Personal watercraft violations.

3. Operating a boat in excess of the
speed limit or in a prohibited area.

4. Operating a boat without a valid
safety education certificate.

5. Operating a boat without a valid
certificate of number (begins with
IIWS").

6. Operating a motorboat while
under the influence of an
intoxicant or controlled substance.

7. Allowing persons to ride on decks
or gunwales.

8. Operating a boat towing a water-
skier without a required observer.

9. Local ordinance violations.

10. Failure to display proper
registration.

| Visit dnr.wi.gov and search “BOAT” for more information about boating in Wisconsin.



ACCIDENTS

Incompetent boaters cause
more severe accidents. In
2014, Wisconsin reported
115 boating accidents
resulting in 81 injuries

and nine fatalities. Of the
nine fatalities, 89 percent
were not wearing a life
jacket and drowning was
determined to be the
cause of death. Operator
inexperience and lack of
boating safety education
continue to be factors in
boating accidents: 56 percent
of the operators involved in an
accident reported not completing
a safety education course.

WHEN TO CALL
Boat accidents must be reported immediately
to a conservation warden or other law
enforcement officer if the accident results in:

* Loss of life

N
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* Any injury that requires medical treatment beyond first aid
* Any boat or property damage in excess of $2,000
* Complete loss of a boat

To report a boating accident or other violation, call
1-800-TIP-WDNR (1-800-847-9367). In addition, within 10 days
of the accident, the operator must submit a Boat Operator
Incident Report (Form 4100-20) to the DNR. This form can be
downloaded from the DNR website (dnr.wi.gov/topic/boat/
crashinfo.html), or is available at DNR offices, sheriffs’
departments and many local police departments. Mail
completed forms to:

WI Department of Natural Resources
Boating Program - LE/8

P.O. Box 7921

Madison, WI 53707-7921
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TOP 10 FACTORS CONTRIBUTING TO
BOATING ACCIDENTS

1. Operator inattention
2. Improper lookout

3. Operator inexperience
4. Excessive speed

5. Machinery failure

6. Alcohol use
7. Navigation rules violation
8. Force of wave/wake
9. Hazardous waters
10. Weather

REGISTRATION AND TITLING

There are several ways to register or renew your boat.

BE BOAT READY

Before getting on the water, you
should conduct an annual boat
maintenance check and make sure your
registration is up to date and you have a
current year's sticker displayed. Here are a few
other items to add to your check-up:

¢ Trailer. Clean and check trailer hitches, rollers
and pads for rust and tighten bolts. Check tire
pressure and tire tread. Keep the tires and
spare inflated to the proper pressure. Check
the safety chains from the car to the trailer and
from the winch to the boat.

¢ Lights. For both trailer and boat, check
electrical systems to make sure all lights are in
working order. Charge up those batteries.

* Boat. Check the hull, pulleys, carpeting
and fittings. Grease pulleys and check for
signs of wear. Check and lubricate steering
cables. Check the electrical conduits, live well,
compartments, chairs, benches, transom and
the motor. Get your motor tuned-up for the
season.

¢ Lines. Check all your lines including the anchor
ropes. Replace if frayed.

* Fuel system. Inspect the fuel lines for wear
and cracks. Install a fresh fuel filter. Inspect your
fuel tanks and cap vents.

* Safety equipment. Check your safety
equipment including the number of life jackets
on board, and make sure the fire extinguisher,
flare kit, flashlights and first-aid kit are up to
date.

* Towing vehicle. Check the vehicle you will be
using to tow the trailer and boat. Inspect the
ball and hitch assembly and make sure the
brakes on your vehicle are in good shape.

DNR FILE

* Online. Online registration allows you to process transactions for the boat you currently own or to register recently
purchased boats. Go to dnr.wi.gov and search “Registration.”

¢ License agent. Locate an agent near you to complete your boat renewal or duplicate decal needs. Go to dnr.wi.gov and
search “License Agent.”

* Service center. DNR service centers provide full registration service, including transferring titled boats to new owners,
lien releases and documenting boats and fleets. To find a center near you, go to dnr.wi.gov and search “Service Centers.”

* Mail. Complete the Boat Registration and Titling Application (Form 9400-193), make a photocopy for your records and
mail the original application and appropriate fees to the address on the form. This form can be downloaded from the
DNR website (dnr.wi.gov/files/PDF/forms/9400/9400-193.pdf).



SAFETY
TIPS FOR
BEGINNERS
AND
SEASONED
BOATERS

OCarry one wearable U.S. Coast Guard
(USCG) approved life jacket of the
proper size for every boat occupant.
All life jackets must be ready at hand
and not enclosed in plastic bags or
locked compartments. The best
advice: Wear one every time you
go boating.

e Life jackets must be in good shape
before you use your boat:

* Check your life jacket often for rips,
tears and holes and ensure that
seams, fabric straps and hardware
are good and working. Give the
belts and tie tapes a quick, hard
pull to make sure they are secure.

* Store your life jacket in a dry, cool,
dark place. You should find no
signs of waterlogging or mildew
odor.

¢ Fading could indicate loss of
strength. A weathered life jacket
might tear more easily and lose
flotation material.

¢ Discard any life jacket in poor
shape.

e Boats 16 feet and over must also
carry one USCG-approved throwable
flotation device.

o If your boat has enclosed
compartments or a false floor, you
must carry a USCG-approved fire
extinguisher. Make sure that it is
charged and accessible.

o Test your boat lights before leaving
the dock. If you use battery-operated
lights, always carry extra batteries.
Even if you plan to be back before
dark, an equipment malfunction or
bad weather may change your plans.

o Be weather wise. Sudden wind shifts,
lightning flashes and choppy water
can all mean a storm is brewing.
Bring along a radio and keep a close
eye on the weather.

OBring emergency supplies such as
maps, flares and a first-aid kit. Keep
them in a floatable pouch.

o Tell someone where you are going

and when you will return. Bring a cell
phone.

o Check the boat landing for local
regulations. If boating on the Great
Lakes or Mississippi River, review the
additional federal regulations.

Even if you have taken a boater education course it helps to brush up on
these important boating safety tips before your season on the water begins.

@ Once in line to launch, have a person

available to hold the bow line and
assist in boat handling at the pier.

@ Have one person drive the boat off

the trailer and out of the way of other
boaters while another person is
parking the tow vehicle.

Ventilate tank after refueling. Open all £2) When leaving a boat launch, maintain

hatches and run the blower. Sniff for
fumes before starting the engine and
do not start the engine until the air
smells clean.

m Learn proper anchoring procedures.
Improper anchoring causes many
fatal accidents.

@ Never consume alcohol or drugs
before or during boat operation. A
person is considered to be operating
a vessel under the influence if he or
she:

* Has a blood or breath alcohol
concentration of 0.08 percent or
greater or

¢ Is under the influence of any
controlled substance or any
other unprescribed drug, or any
combination that renders that

person incapable of operating safely.

@ If you loan your boat or personal
watercraft to someone, teach them
how to operate it. If you share the
boat — share the knowledge!

@ Never allow passengers to ride on
gunwales, seatbacks or outside of
protective railings, including the
front of a pontoon boat. A sudden
turn, stop or start could cause a fall
overboard.

@ Make certain your registration is up
to date and that the current year’s
sticker is displayed. Carry your
registration card on board with you.

@ Practice good boat launch etiquette.

Q Practice loading and unloading on a
day that is not too busy at the ramp.

@ Remove boat covers and straps
before you get in line to launch.

@ Load equipment into the boat before
you reach the ramp. Make sure all
equipment is working and that the
drain/boat plug is in.

slow-no-wake speed for a safe and
legal distance from the boat launch.

@ If bad weather is approaching, get

off the water early to avoid a long
waiting line.

@ Drop one person off at the pier to get

the tow vehicle and then get in line.

@ Once loaded, pull well away from the

launch area before securing the boat
for traveling.

STOP AQUATIC-

HITCHHIKERST
PREVENT THE SPREAD OF INVASIVE
SPECIES. IT'S THE LAW.

Clean boats mean clean waters. The DNR
reminds you that before launching and
before leaving any waterbody you must:

v' INSPECT boats, trailers and
equipment

v REMOVE all attached aquatic plants
ERCERINELS

¥ DRAIN all water from boats, vehicles
and equipment

v NEVER MOVE plants or live fish away
from a waterbody

v/ DISPOSE of unwanted bait in the
trash

These steps ensure that your actions are
not part of the problem but the solution.
To learn more, visit dnr.wi.gov/lakes/
invasives/.

©0000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000

Visit dnr.wi.gov and search “BOAT" for more information about boating in Wisconsin.
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The Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources provides equal opportunity in its employment, programs,
services and functions under an Affirmative Action Plan. If you have any questions, please write to Equal
Opportunity Office, Department of the Interior, Washington, DC 20240.

This publication is available in alternative format (large print, Braille, audio tape, etc.) upon request. Please
call the Department of Natural Resources Accessibility Coordinator at 608-267-7490 for more information.



