
GameReg – How do I report my harvest?
Registration of all deer, bear, turkey, sharp-tailed grouse, geese, bobcat, 
fisher and otter remains mandatory in Wisconsin! It is not an option. 

TAG NUMBER: You will need the TAG NUMBER 
from your carcass tag to begin the harvest 
registration process. Enter the correct zone, 
county/Deer Management Unit/Game 
Management Unit, and land type (deer only—
public or private) during registration. If you do 
not have a tag number, call the DNR at 1-888-936-
7463 for assistance.

WRITE CONFIRMATION NUMBER: The 
10-character must be legibly written on the tag 
or goose harvest card as proof of registration.  
The carcass tag with confirmation number 
written on it must be retained by the hunter until 
the meat is consumed.

When registering by phone, enter the correct three-digit county code when prompted 
by using your phone keypad to spell the first three letters of the county of kill (i.e. 232 
for Adams).

In Person (deer and bear only): Participating registration stations will be listed on the 
department website, dnr.wi.gov. Use the key words, “Game registration” to search.

Bobcat, fisher and otter: Report within 24 hours AND contact a warden to register 
your harvest within 5 days of the end of the month of harvest

Methods to report  
your harvest

Online (fastest and easiest method)  
On a computer or mobile device

GAMEREG.WI.GOV
OR

Phone
1-844-GAME-REG
(1-844-426-3734)

WRITE CONFIRMATION NUMBER here



When am I required to carry my paper license, tag, harvest card, safety 
education certificate and recreational vehicle temporary operating receipt? 
And when are alternative forms of proof of purchase valid?

License/Tag 
type

Paper 
License/Tag 

ALTERNATIVE FORMS OF PROOF OF PURCHASE
Authenticated Wisconsin driver’s license

Wisconsin Conservation Card
Go Wild System generated PDF on mobile 

device
Carcass tag for deer, 
turkey, bear, or 
sturgeon that has 
not been used to 
report a harvest

PAPER CARCASS 
TAG REQUIRED 

Not allowed for tagging carcass

Goose harvest 
report card

PAPER REPORT 
CARD REQUIRED Not allowed for recording harvest

All fishing licenses 
when fishing 
on BOUNDARY 
and OUTLYING 
waters such as the 
Mississippi River and 
Great Lakes

PAPER LICENSE 
REQUIRED 

Not allowed.  
(Law enforcement officers from other states 

are unable to verify privileges.)

All fishing licenses 
(EXCEPT when 
fishing boundary 
or outlying waters) 
hunting, trapping, 
guide, wild rice and 
state stamps.

Valid as proof Valid as proof

Federal Duck Stamp

Actual stamp OR 
paper receipt 

(receipt valid for 45 
days after purchase)

Not allowed

Safety education 
certificates Valid as proof Valid as proof

Temporary operating 
receipt for boat, off-
highway motorcycle, 
snowmobile, ATV and 
UTV registrations, as 
well as ATV, UTV and 
snowmobile trail pass

Valid as proof of 
registration and 

trail pass
Not allowed

Go Wild 
System 

generated 
PDF on mobile 

device
 

Valid as proof 
of registration 
and trail pass


