
 
 

INFECTIOUS WASTE TRANSPORTER LICENSE  
INFORMATION AND APPLICATION PACKAGE 

 
 
Dear Infectious Waste Transporter Applicant: 
 
Thank you for your interest in becoming a licensed infectious waste transporter in Wisconsin.  
 
This is an annual license with the license period beginning on October 1 and expiring on September 30. 
The annual fee for this license is $275.00 (includes one vehicle), plus $22.00 for each additional 
vehicle. This fee cannot be prorated. This license is subject to annual renewal applications and fees in 
order to remain current. You will receive a renewal application each May and a fee statement each 
June. Late renewal applications are subject to a late processing fee equal to 50% of the renewal fee or 
$150.00, whichever is less, in addition to the relicensing fee. 
 
A copy of the Wisconsin regulations for the transportation of infectious waste (Wisconsin Administrative 
Code Chapter NR 526) is available on the website. Please be aware that other transportation 
regulations, such as U.S. Department of Transportation standards, may also apply. For more 
information, call the USDOT/RSPA helpline at 1-800-467-4922 or go to their webpage at 
http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov/safety-security/hazmat/complyhmregs.htm. 
 
This agency is required by state statute (s. 299.07(1)(a), Wis. Stats), to obtain each applicant’s social 
security number, or if the applicant is not an individual, the applicant’s federal employer identification 
number (FEIN). The Department must have this information before issuing or renewing the listed 
registration, certification or license. Please fill out Form 9400-568 Social Security Number/FEIN 
Collection Request and submit with the application. The form is available on the website. 
 
Please complete the Infectious Waste Transportation License Application Form 4400-205 and the 
SSN/FEIN form and submit them along with the appropriate fee (payable to the Wisconsin Department 
of Natural Resources) to the appropriate regional environmental program associate. To determine the 
correct regional office to send the application materials to, please choose the region that includes the 
county where your vehicles are stored. If your facility is located out of state, return your application 
materials to the regional office in which the majority of your service will be provided, or the region that 
will be your point of entry to the State of Wisconsin. Please keep a copy of the completed application 
form for your reference. 
 
If you have any questions as you complete the application, please contact your regional environmental 
program associate. 
 
Thank you. 
 

State of Wisconsin 
DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES 

http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov/safety-security/hazmat/complyhmregs.htm
http://dnr.wi.gov/topic/Waste/EPAs.html
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