
Wisconsin Hound Dog & Dog Club Training Regulations 
WM-564-2014 

 
This publication gives you a summary of Wisconsin’s laws which pertain to Hound Dog Training and Dog Club Training licenses. It is 
not a complete set of laws.  
 

A Hound Dog Training License allows for the following activities: 

 Purchase, possession and use of captive raccoon or bobcat for dog training purposes 

 Use of captive black bear, possessed under a Captive Wild Animal Farm License, for dog training purposes (except on 
Department lands). 

 Purchase, possession, and use of rabbits, hares, coyote and fox for dog training in a permitted Hound Dog Training 
Enclosure.  
 

A Hound Dog Training License is not needed: 

 to accompany a trainer or observe dog training activities 

 to assist in handling the dogs during dog training activities 

 for dog club members to train on a licensed Dog Club Training property  

 to train on free-roaming bear from July 1-August 31, if trainer has a Class A or B Bear Hunting License* 
*See other restrictions and exceptions in the Bear Hunting Regulations pamphlet. 
 

A hound dog or dog club training license requires the completion of a Hound Dog training application, which is available at your local 
DNR service center or on the Internet (dnr.wi.gov). Each license must be approved by the DNR property manager for the county 
where the training activities are to take place.   
 
Each hound dog training or dog club training license is valid until the third December 31st after the date of issuance.  
Example: A license issued in June of 2013 is valid until December 31, 2015.  

 
LICENSE REQUIREMENTS  
Each person who participates in hound dog training with the use of captive wild animals specified above must have their own hound 
dog training license, or be a member of a club that holds a Dog Club Training License.  The license does not authorize commercial 
or organized shoots, selling, breeding, or propagating of animals, or training dogs with captive black bear on DNR lands. 

 
Hound Dog Training License $25.00  
May be issued to any individual who is at least 10 years of age who files a dog training license application and pays the applicable 
fee.  Individuals issued a hound dog training license are subject to the following requirements:  
 
Display of license. While engaged in hound dog training, the licensee must be in possession of the license and make the 
 license available to any DNR conservation warden or other authorized DNR agent upon request.  
 
Location. Train only on the properties or areas identified and approved on the license.  
 
Care, Handling & Treatment. See section on Care and Treatment of Birds and Animals (below). 
 
Record Keeping.  Maintain proof of legal possession of captive wild animals, and file quarterly and annual reports with the 
 Department as required (see below).   

 
Hound Dog Training Enclosures, Inspections & Permits (No Fee) 
In addition to needing a hound dog training, hound dog trial, or dog club training license, a Hound Dog Training Enclosure Permit is 
required to possess and use captive wild rabbits, hares, fox or coyote for dog training purposes. Training with these species may 
only occur within a hound dog training enclosure which: 

1) meets the requirements of NR 17.045, Wis. Adm. Code  
2) has been inspected by the Department 
3) holds a current Hound Dog Training Enclosure permit.  

 
Unless the hound dog training enclosure is covered under a Dog Club or Dog Trial license, anyone that releases or trains their dogs 
on rabbits, hares, fox or coyote within the enclosure must possess an individual Hound Dog Training license.  
 
See separate Wisconsin Hound Dog Training Enclosure Regulations for specific regulations on training dogs in a hound dog training 
enclosure, and details on how to apply for an enclosure permit. 

 
Dog Club Training License $100.00  
Issued to an organization that files a dog club training application with the applicable fee, and owns or leases land for the purpose 
of training bird dogs or hound dogs to retrieve, point, flush or track game. A Dog Club Training License cannot be issued for lands 
that are not owned or leased by the club.  
 

http://dnr.wi.gov/files/pdf/pubs/cs/CS0017.pdf
http://dnr.wi.gov/files/PDF/pubs/wm/WM0197.pdf
http://dnr.wi.gov/
http://dnr.wi.gov/files/pdf/pubs/wm/wm0477.pdf


A club is any organization of at least 2 or more individuals, of whom at least one is a minimum 14 years of age and eligible to obtain 
a dog club training license.  Members must be eligible to participate in legal dog training activities, and identified in writing as 
members of the licensed dog training club on a list retained by the license holder. Such lists shall be made available to the 
department upon request.  
 
Note: Pursuant to s. 29.304, Stats., no one under the age of 10 may possess a firearm. A person under the age of 10 may be a 
member of a dog training club and may train dogs with the use of captive wild animals as authorized under the Dog Training Club 
License, but may not possess a firearm or kill any animal as part of the training activity.  
 
Similar to the Hound Dog Training License, a Dog Club Training License allows the members of a club to purchase, possess and 
use approved captive wild animals that are bred in captivity for hound dog training.  Training under this license may only take place 
on properties owned or leased by the club.  The species authorized for use under a dog club training license are the same as those 
for an individual bird dog or hound dog training license.   
 
All requirements of the Hound Dog Training License apply to a Dog Club Training license except for the display of license 
requirements. The Dog Club Training license shall be kept at the clubhouse or training grounds where the training activity is 
occurring. If a club member is engaged in training activities but not within one-quarter mile of the clubhouse, the member shall be in 
possession of a copy of the dog club training license. Club members shall make the license available to any DNR conservation 
warden or other authorized DNR agent upon request.  

 
CLASSES OF FIELD TRAINING GROUNDS  
Class 1 training grounds  
Class 1 grounds are those Department lands that are posted, marked or designated where dog training is allowed year-round, 
except hunting shall have priority. Class 1 field training grounds include the following:  
1) Richard Bong state recreation area- the west unit of the special use zone  
2) George W. Mead wildlife area  
3) Lower Wisconsin River wildlife area-Mazomanie unit  
4) Kettle Moraine State Forest: Northern Unit upland and wetland grounds, and Southern Unit-Ottawa Grounds  
5) Pine Island wildlife area  
 

Class 2 training grounds  
Class 2 training grounds include any other DNR lands which are designated on maps available from the Department (dnr.wi.gov, 
keyword search “dog training”).  Department lands will not be approved if dog training is determined to be inconsistent with the 
master plan, property plan, wildlife management objectives, or federal requirements.  Class 2 grounds may have property-specific 
regulations. 

 
REPORTS, RECORD KEEPING AND PROOF OF LEGAL POSSESSION REQUIREMENTS  
Each person holding a Hound Dog Training License or a Dog Club Training License must keep a record by date of all captive wild 
animals that are purchased, acquired, transferred, died, killed or escaped, including:  
 

1. Complete name and address, and any captive wildlife license number of the person from whom the wild animals were 
 purchased or acquired.  
2. The date of the transaction, and the number and species of wild animals.  
3. All captive wild animals that have died, been killed, or escaped.  
 
Records must be kept up-to-date and all transactions must be recorded within 7 days. All records and reports must be kept for at 
least 3 years and must be made available for inspection by DNR personnel upon request. 
 

Annual Reports  
All license holders must submit an annual report by January 30

th
 each year, which include all of the following information for each 

species of captive wild animal licensed by the person holding the license:  
 

1. The total number of each species possessed on the date of the report.  
2. The total number of each species that were purchased or otherwise acquired during the reporting year.   
3. The total number of each species that were released or transferred during the reporting year.  
4. The total number of each species that were killed, escaped or died during the reporting year.  

 

Quarterly Reports  
1. Required only for transactions involving bobcat, coyote, and fox.  
2. Must be submitted by April 30, July 31, October 31, and January 31 each year for the previous 3 months.  
3. Does not need to be filed if you do not purchase, acquire, transfer, or have any deaths or escapes involving these 

 species during a quarter.  
 

Submission of required reports may be a condition for renewal of any license or permit.  
 

 
 
 

http://dnr.wi.gov/
http://dnr.wi.gov/files/pdf/forms/9400/9400-579A.pdf
http://dnr.wi.gov/files/pdf/forms/9400/9400-579.pdf


SOURCES OF CAPTIVE WILD ANIMALS FOR HOUND DOG TRAINING  
In-State Captive Sources. Generally, all coyote, fox, rabbit, raccoon and bobcat used for hound dog training may only be obtained 
from a legal, Wisconsin captive-bred source. No free-ranging wild animals captured from the wild may be used for hound dog 
training purposes, except:  

1. Coyotes and raccoons that are live-trapped on a Wisconsin licensed wild fur farm.  
2. Coyotes and rabbits that are causing a nuisance or damage, and which have been live-trapped for relocation under the 

 authority of s. NR 12.10(1)(a)5 and (b)5., Wis. Adm. Code. 
 

Coyotes or rabbits that were live-trapped under # 2 above, and released into a hound dog training enclosure, may not be later 
relocated to any other cage or enclosure unless that enclosure has a valid Hound Dog Training Enclosure Permit.  
 
Out-of-State Captive Sources. Unless authorized by the Department, captive wild animals from out-of-state may not be used 
within a hound dog training enclosure. When determining whether to issue an authorization, the Department shall consider whether 
the animal originates from a state or country with suspected or known infectious wildlife diseases.  
If the Department authorizes use of an imported captive animal for use in hound dog training enclosures, the animal shall be 
accompanied by a certificate of veterinary inspection as required under s. ATCP 11.02, Wis. Adm. Code, and a copy of the 
certificate shall be maintained with the records required to be kept under s. NR 17.11(5) , Wis. Adm. Code.  In addition, a copy shall 
be provided to the Department with quarterly reports required under s. 169.36(9)(b) Stats.  
Note: To request the use of an imported captive wild animal, contact the state wildlife veterinarian, (608) 221-6337 
 

DOG TRAINING ON FREE-ROAMING WILD ANIMALS 
Except as described in ‘Prohibitions’ below, any person may train dogs on free-roaming wild animals (except wolves) without a dog 
training or trialing license.  
 

Prohibitions  
Department lands. Dogs shall be controlled on a leash not longer than 8 feet in length from April 15 - July 31 on all DNR public 
 hunting lands, with the exception of Class 1 and select Class 2 dog training grounds (see additional restrictions below).  
Exceptions for training on raccoons and rabbits. From July 1 to the following April 14th hound dogs may be trained on free-
 roaming raccoons and rabbits on Department lands without a leash (except where prohibited in state parks, campgrounds, 
 natural areas and other posted area).  
Northern restricted zone. Dog training on any captive or free-roaming wild animal is prohibited May 1 to June 30 on all public 
 and private lands within the northern restricted zone.  Exception: A person may train or trial dogs on captive or free-roaming 
 raccoons and rabbits in the northern restricted zone May 1 to June 30 provided all the following apply:  

1. The licensee applies for and receives a hound dog training or trialing license.      
2. The licensee complies with any restrictions placed on a license to prevent the pursuit of wild bear.   
3. The Department approves the requested property locations (licensee may list up to 3 townships in the same or 

 adjoining counties for training purposes).  
4. No more than 2 dogs in a single pack may be used to pursue raccoon or rabbit for training purposes, regardless the 

 number of persons assisting the licensee and regardless of the dogs’ ownership.  
 
     
 

Northern Restricted Zone  

 

 

 

 

 
Bear dog training period. An individual may ONLY use dogs to pursue free-roaming wild bear from July 1 to August 31 
 provided:  

1. The person possesses a class A or B bear license or is exempted from needing the license (e.g. under age 16);  

2. Each dog is uniquely tattooed or wears a collar with the owner’s name and address attached;  

3. No more than 6 dogs in a single pack may be used to pursue bear, regardless of the number of persons assisting the 
 licensee and regardless of the dogs’ ownership.  
 NOTE: Bears may not be pursued where prohibited in state parks, state campgrounds, state natural areas or other posted or 
 restricted areas.  
Revocations. Pursuant to s. 169.45(7), Stats., the department may revoke a dog training license issued under s. 169.20, Stats., 
 when dogs are found to be running bear in the northern restricted zone at times other than the July 1 to August 31 bear 
 dog training period established under s. NR 10.101(2)(b).  
Killing wild animals. No person engaged in training dogs may kill or cause to be killed any free-roaming wild animal including 
 unprotected wild animals without Department approval.  
 
 
 
 



CARE AND TREATMENT OF CAPTIVE ANIMALS  
Captive wild animals possessed for dog training purposes shall be treated in a humane manner and confined under sanitary 
conditions with proper and adequate space, shade and fresh water. Dogs may not be released into a training enclosure with the 
intent to injure or kill any captive wild animal. Captive wild animals may not be shot inside a training enclosure or cage. Any coyote 
or fox injured during a dog training exercise shall be submitted to a veterinarian for treatment at the owner or operator’s expense, or 
euthanized and reported to the Department within 24 hours.  
 
Primary and transportation enclosures shall meet the requirements in § NR 16.30 to 16.38, Wisconsin Administrative Code.  
(See separate DNR informational pamphlets on Captive Wildlife Pen Specifications & Transportation Standards PUB CS-20, and 
Hound Dog Training Enclosure Regulations PUB-WM-477.)  
 
Lawfully-obtained captive bear, bobcat and raccoon may be used for dog training and trials, provided:  
1. Any bear is also possessed under authority of a Captive Wild Animal Farm license.  
2. Bear, bobcat and raccoon, when not being used for training purposes, are housed in accordance with s. NR 16.30 and 16.38.  
3. The bear, bobcat or raccoon is kept in a cage at all times. The cage shall be constructed so that:  

a. The cage is strong enough to contain the animal securely and comfortably, and to withstand the normal rigors of training.  
b. The interior has no sharp points, edges, or protrusions that could injure the animal within it.  
c. The animal is securely contained at all times in a way that it is not likely to result in injury to itself, handlers, or persons or 

 animals nearby.  
d. The cage containing the bear has a mesh size no greater than 2 inches square.  
e. Sufficient space is provided to allow the animal to make normal postural adjustments, with adequate freedom of movement 

 to sit, stand on all 4 legs, turn around and lie in a normal manner.   
f. Urine and feces are allowed to drain from the cage.  
g. Permanent handles or handholds are provided on the exterior, which enables the cage to be lifted and ensures that anyone 

 handling the cage will not come into physical contact with the animal inside.  
h. When the cage is elevated in a tree or on a pole for training or trial purposes, the cage shall be raised a minimum of 10 feet  

 off the ground.  
4. All individuals except the owner of the captive animal, the owner's designee or the dog handler shall be kept at least 4 feet from 
 the cage. For bear, a barrier shall be provided to assure that individuals other than the owner, designee or handlers are kept 4 
 feet from the cage.  
5. Dogs shall be kept a minimum of one foot from the cage at all times by restraint, cage design or barrier fence, except where the 
 cage is covered by solid material which prevents all physical contact between the dog and the captive animal. The “one foot 
 minimum distance” does not apply to raccoon training or trials with the use of roll cages.  
6. The cage shall be adequately shaded at all times.  
7. The bear, bobcat or raccoon shall have access to fresh water.  
8. Roll cages may not be used for dog training with bear or bobcat.  
9. Training & Trialing periods.  

a. The length of time that captive wild bear, bobcat or raccoon may be used for training exercises may not  exceed 12 hours 
 within a 24-hour period.  

b. Captive wild bear, bobcat and raccoon shall be provided a minimum of 8 consecutive hours of rest within a 24-hour period.  
c. Bear, bobcat or raccoon used for training may not be housed in an enclosure that does not meet the primary enclosure 

 standards in NR 16.30(4), Wis. Adm. Code for a period of more than 72 hours.   
 
Lawfully-obtained captive rabbits, hares, coyote and fox, may be used for dog training and trials, provided:  
1. The rabbits, hares, coyote and fox are confined within a hound dog training enclosure which meets the requirements of NR 
 17.045, Wis. Adm. Code, has been inspected by the Department, and has a current Hound Dog Training Enclosure Permit. (See 
 section on Hound Dog Training Enclosures, Inspections and Permits above for more details.) 
2. Training & Trialing periods:  

a. The length of time that training activity may occur in a hound dog training enclosure containing captive coyote or fox may not 
 exceed 16 hours within a 24-hour period.  

b. A minimum of 8 consecutive hours of rest within a 24-hour period shall be provided during which no dog training or trialing 
 may take place within an enclosure containing captive coyote or fox.  

 
 
 

Captive Wildlife Laws 
 

State Statute Chapter 169, Captive Wildlife is available for download here: 
http://dnr.wi.gov/topic/WildlifeHabitat/documents/captive169.pdf  

 
Administrative Code NR 16, Captive Wildlife is available for download here: 

http://dnr.wi.gov/topic/WildlifeHabitat/documents/captiveNR16.pdf  
 

To purchase copies via mail, please call or write: 
Document Sales  
P.O. Box 7840  

Madison, Wisconsin 53707-7840  
608-266-3358 

 
For more information, please see the Department of Natural Resources’ website:  dnr.wi.gov , keyword search “Dog Training”. 

http://dnr.wi.gov/files/pdf/pubs/cs/CS0020.pdf
http://dnr.wi.gov/files/pdf/pubs/wm/wm0477.pdf
http://dnr.wi.gov/topic/WildlifeHabitat/documents/captive169.pdf
http://dnr.wi.gov/topic/WildlifeHabitat/documents/captiveNR16.pdf
http://dnr.wi.gov/

