
 
Law Enforcement Committee of the  

Snowmobile Recreation Council Meeting 
Sunday, August 21, 2016 

 
Dale’s Weston Lanes 

Mountain Bay Conference Center 
5902 Schofield Avenue 

Weston, WI  54476 
 

Attendance:  Mike Holden, Sam Landes, Bev Dittmar, Dave Newman,  
Gary Eddy (DNR) 

 
Minutes 

 
1. Call to order – 6:18 p.m. 
 
2. Public comments – Dave Peterson of Langlade County had comments on signs.  
Yellow/black arrow should be larger.  What is the proper use of chevrons?   
 
3. Acceptance of minutes of previous meeting.  Motion: Bev Dittmar   2nd:  Sam Landes 
 
4. Snowmobile trespass – Mike Holden: same issue from International Snowmobile Congress 
(ISC) meeting.   Mike stated that sometimes local court systems dismiss these tickets.  Sam:  
Local law enforcement (LE) says it’s difficult to enforce.  Dave Newman stated the American 
Council of Snowmobile Associations is also looking at this issue.  Sam:  Communication with LE 
is key. Invite to club meetings to discuss issues.  Gary Eddy reported that the fine is $263.50 
and that 51 citations were issued by sheriff’s dept. and DNR LE for trespass to private/public 
property last season.  Gary recommended that land owners and club members report trespass 
immediately to LE so they can address them before they get out of hand. 
 
5. Snowmobile hand signals – Mike – issue from ISC.  Gary summarized the issue from ISC.  
The unofficial count down hand signals are unnecessary and a safety concern due to all 
operators riding with one hand while giving this signal.  The internationally accepted hand 
signals do not include/ recommend use of the “count down”.  The International Assoc. of 
Snowmobile Administrators are looking at use of all hand signals and have asked for input from 
the U.S. and Canadian associations as well as from the manufacturers.     
 
6. Trail signs/signing handbook –Gary relayed DOT concerns on use of the 12” x 8” yellow and 
black turn arrow.  DOT doesn’t want it used along roads because it mimics DOT signage for 
motor vehicles.  Gary recommended looking at a 12” x 8” orange and black sign instead.  Dave 
Newman – Michigan went with less signs altogether.  Sam – the signing handbook provides 
merely guidelines/recommendations.  Chevrons should be used when there is a significant 
change of direction and should always be proceed with a “caution curve” sign.  Chevrons should 
be posted with a minimum of two-three used together, never with a single chevron.  Chevrons 
should not be used as a basic arrow sign. 
 
 



7. DNR report –  
 

• Law Enforcement and Safety 
Wisconsin experienced a poor snowmobile season.  Marginal snowmobiling 
opportunities existed in the far northern areas of the state.  

 
There were 835 active volunteer snowmobile safety instructors that certified 3737 
students, 3114 students were certified via online courses.  Despite the poor snow 
conditions Wisconsin had 9 fatal snowmobile crashes, down from the 12 the previous 
season.  Speed, alcohol and nighttime continue to be the biggest contributing factors. 

 
The new trail pass requirement was implemented for all Wisconsin registered 
snowmobiles.  Previously only non-resident snowmobiles were required to purchase trail 
passes.  The new trail pass costs $10.00 for current members of a Wisconsin 
snowmobile club/AWSC and $30.00 for non-members.  Mixed comments were received 
regarding the new trail pass.  Complaints included having to pay more if they weren’t a 
member of a club, clubs weren’t unavailable to take new memberships and club 
members upset that they couldn’t ride immediately after purchasing a trail pass.  
Complaints from law enforcement were operators being able to operate without a trail 
sticker if they possessed a temporary trail pass receipt and new club members 
attempting to operate with a copy of their membership application but no trail sticker.   

 
For the third year, legislation was introduced that would tie in all recreational vehicle 
OWI violations (ATV, boat, snow) with a person’s motor vehicle driver’s license.  
Penalties would also result in a loss of all recreational vehicle privileges for OWI and 
result in revocation of the driver’s license for second offense OWI on any recreational 
vehicle with a five year period.  This legislation wasn’t enacted 

 
• Dave Newman requested sheriff’s patrol audit info. when it becomes available. 

 
 
8. Member items – D. Newman.  Issue with crossing State Trunk Highways.  DOT is stating 
that permits are required for every crossing.  AWSC attorney stated it’s a right to cross a STH 
without a permit.  Cathy Burrow recommends lightly broaching the subject. Sam – club 
members know best where to post/place crossings.  Sometimes placed in a difficult place when 
they have no choice. 
 
 
9. Adjournment.  Motion:     Bev   2nd:  Sam. 6:50 p.m. 


